Home

We are pleased to present the following Five Star Reviews:

Karen T. - 8/12/2015

I am so glad I called 1st Appliance Repair.  My refrigerator died in the middle of a heat wave.  He was out in a jiffy.  Diagnosed the problem and made the repair, finished with in an hour. I am so grateful.  I called four other places and they said it would be a three day wait time.  Thank you

Chris S. - 4/3/2014

Barry is as good as it gets for appliance repair. His knowledge and promptness really sets him apart from all the rest. I'll never use anyone else. I had an issue with our refrigerator not cooling, Barry came the same day I called and diagnosed and fixed the refrigerator fan in an hour. He carries a wide variety of parts in his work truck which is convenient and cost & time effective for us! I'd recommend him to anyone.

Alexander ‎ - Apr 13, 2011
From my first phone call till the job was done took less than two hours! Barry was the nicest repairman I've ever dealt with. I can't believe a place with such great work ethic still exists these days!

 Jim ‎ - Nov 2, 2010
Great Service After dealing w/ Sears cancelling on me and then not being able to come back for 4 days (they have lost my business forever), I called 1st Appliance repair and Barry was here that afternoon and fixed our washer in 30 minutes!! The labor was 1/2 the price of Sears and he charged me what he pays for the pump! Great service and would definitely call them again if need be! Highly Recommended!

 Charlotte ‎ - Jun 23, 2010
Amazed and Thankful! I was so fearful to call any repair service. Budget was big concern. They were so friendly, gave same day service and fixed Kitchen Aid refrigerator for just the labor. I hope I never need to call again, but would definitely recommend

 Josh ‎ - Apr 5, 2010
Friendly & Fast I've used Barry twice now. He's responsive and fast. He returned my call immediately and was ready to come out the next day to look at my dishwasher. He's speedy as well. He had the problem identified and fixed within 30 minutes. I won't use anyone else for appliance repairs. Definitely go with these guys. jb

 Mikel ‎ - Dec 10, 2009
Great service! Finding a reputable service provider today can be challenging. I had looked at several providers in the area before asking 1st Appliance Repair to help me with my refrigerator issue. Barry was very courteous, patiently answered all of my questions, provided me with a couple of suggestions on steps I could take to help further identify the problem and offered his opinion on the likely cause and expected cost. The actual service call went great. Based on my description of the problem, Barry brought the part most likely required to address the issue. He called it correctly and my refrigerator was up and running in no time. Their prices are very competitive and they are very responsive. I highly recommend 1st Appliance Repair and will definitely share my experience with everyone I know.

 Thankless ‎ - Oct 14, 2010
Such a relief... ...to have such an easy and positive experience with a repair service. My dishwasher sounded like a 747 taking off every time I turned it on. I thought surely it was a goner, but the problem turned out to be a tiny piece of glass caught in its innards. Prompt service, good price, and it was really interesting to see thousands of little bitty dishwasher parts laid out all over my kitchen floor, and then watch them being re-assembled into a working (and quiet) dishwasher

 ST ‎ - Dec 19, 2010
He was nice, came soon after we contacted him , and charged us a reasonable price. We would work for this company again.

 Rob ‎ - Oct 11, 2010
Outstanding service After being totally gouged by another repair service with lots of random hidden fees, I started calling 1st Appliance Repair a few years ago for washer and dryer maintenance for our 10 unit condo with common laundry. I also called them for an oven element repair in my own condo. Everytime I call them they are honest and upfront with costs and timelines and no surprises. Now we call them for all annual maintenance and repairs and I highly recommend them.

 leora ‎ - Oct 5, 2010
Excellent service Barry was friendly, prompt, and, most important, did a great job. Every time I empty my dishwasher now, full of clean, sparkling dishes, I tip my hat to his good work. His rates are reasonable and I didn't have to wait weeks for service, either. I will definitely call them again.

 jen ‎ - Sep 9, 2010
call this guy Just talked to Barry, unfortunately he doesn't work on Bosch appliances. But he took the time to give me tips, on the phone, on how to unlock it to get wet clothes out. So he helped me at no cost.

 Yan ‎ - Aug 6, 2010
Fantastic Our dishwasher stopped working and my wife called. She spoke both to Barry and his brother. They were very friendly and had her do some basic troubleshooting and determined that the float was stuck. This solved the problem at no cost!

 Chris ‎ - Jun 10, 2010
Solid service. Washer wasn't working AGAIN, and we were debating whether it was time to buy a new one. Barry returned my call quickly, scheduled prompt service, and arrived on time. He fixed the washer and gave us pointers on how to avoid the problems we were having. Rates were very reasonable. I'm keeping the card for future appliance repairs!

 Jimmy ‎ - Jun 8, 2010
Quick, reasonable, nice! Told Barry the problem over the phone. He told me what he suspected was wrong with it and what he thought it would cost. He came over and fixed it quickly- it was just what he thought, and the cost was exactly as stated which seemed like a great deal to me! I wish everyone I dealt with in the business world were this easy to deal with. Thanks Barry! On a side note- I mentioned to Barry my internet research adventure and my thoughts on becoming an amateur washer repairmen. He told me a humorous story about going to a customer's house to find a washer machine almost completely disassembled! That would have been me!

 andrea ‎ - May 10, 2010
Very helpful and fair Barry came to take a look at my dish washer. When he found out that the motor was defect and there was no way to fix it without dropping half the price of a new dish washer on parts, he left me with a couple of good recommendations and $0 bill for the twenty minutes he spent diagnosing the machine. Thank you!

 JJ ‎ - Apr 21, 2010
Quick, Honest They showed up when they said they would. Quoted me 1/2 hour plus a 30 dollar part. Was done withing 1/2 an hour and handed me a bill for exactly what they said it would be. Friendly, efficient, quick, honest. What more do you want?

 Jody ‎ - Dec 5, 2009
Hooray! Our refrigerator started pouring out smoke on a Saturday morning. We were concerned about finding someone who would not only come out on a Saturday, but hopefully not charge a ton extra for the service. Not only did Barry come out on a Saturday w/out extra fees, he was super friendly and professional. The billing was very reasonable and straight-forward. We will definitely be using them again for our next appliance repair. Thanks so much!

 dare to dream ‎ - Dec 1, 2009
Wow!!! Barry came out to fix my washing machine. It turned out to be an easy fix, so he didn't charge me anything. How refreshing this is in this day and age of other repairman who nickle and dime you to death with trip charges, and other hidden fees. I will definetly call them in the future as well as recommend them to my friends. All of this on top of same day service.

 dan ‎ - Nov 11, 2009
Fantastic Service Neil came to fix my dryer, and fix it he did. He was very clear about charges when we talked over the phone, and he stuck to it. The parts I needed were already with him when he came. He also came right on time. I was very very very happy with the service and the repair. Neil will be my first call the next time something of mine breaks.

 Ronald ‎ - Nov 1, 2009
Amazing The best ever... Responsive, knowledgeable, and extremely reasonable. When I first called, Barry diagnosed the problem and told me what part I needed and how easy it would be for me to fix myself. But wanted an expert on site. And he was. Was shocked how little the bill (never experienced that feeling before) so added a big tip to the bill. You will be amazed.

 fynnon0Llugwy ‎ - Oct 28, 2009
Great Guys I called them about a noisy drain pump motor wondering what the cost of the replacement would be. They provided me with the phone number of the parts dealer so I could decide whether my dishwasher was worth fixing or not. That is GREAT service!

 Scott ‎ - Oct 14, 2009
Nice Work! Our fridge was went on the fritz and Niel was out in a jiffy. He identified the problem and had us on the way back to cool drinks in no time. Good work and straight forward pricing. Our fist call next time we have an appliance issue.

 Erica ‎ - Aug 17, 2009
Thanks Barry! I'm so glad my husband found 1st Appliance Repair online! We realized late on a Monday night that our frige/freezer conked out and we called first thing Tuesday morning. My husband described the problem to Barry on the phone and I think he immediately had a good idea of what was going on. He offered to come right that minute, but we were unable to get home from work, so he came the next day at our earliest convenience. Barry found the problem within a few minutes, had the part on his truck to fix it, and in a little over an hour our frige was cooling as good as before for 1/10 the cost of a new one! Barry saved the day! It's obvious that he knows a lot about appliances, was very personable, and explained how my frige/freezer worked and how to increase its life (I never knew!). I would recommend 1st Appliance Repair to anyone - Thank You!

 Tom ‎ - Aug 1, 2009
Great service WOW! Barry was great. He asked about the problem with my washer and then gave me a suggestion that allowed me to fix the problem while he was on the phone, no charge, no hassle. From now on, Barry and Neil are my appliance repairmen. What a find.

Recommend this appliance repair business by
Sue
-
06/17/2010
I would recommend 1st Appliance Repair to anyone. They came out the same day, had the part and fixed my washing machine in 1/2 hour. Knew exactly what the problem was just by listening to the noise the machine was making. After working with other repair companies in the past, who not only didn't fix my machine the same day, but charged twice as much. Thanks Barry and Neil!!
 A pleasure to work with! by
Seth
-
06/08/2010
Told Barry the problem over the phone. He told me what he suspected was wrong with it and what he thought it would cost. He came over and fixed it quickly- it was just what he thought, and the cost was exactly as stated which seemed like a great deal to me! I wish everyone I dealt with in the business world were this easy to deal with. Thanks Barry! On a side note- I mentioned to Barry my internet research adventure and my thoughts on becoming an amateur washer repairmen. He told me a humorous story about going to a customer's house to find a washer machine almost completely disassembled! That would have been me
 Thank You Neil by
sandy
-
04/16/2010
So our washer went out and I was not looking forward to dealing with a repair company and their service guy BUT I WAS SO LUCK to have found Neil. Same day service, fair price and friendly service. I have found a repair man that I will continue to use and recommend. Thanks again Neil!
 Great Service! by
Mikel
-
12/10/2009
Finding a reputable service provider today can be challenging. I had looked at several providers in the area before asking 1st Appliance Repair to help me with my refrigerator issue.Barry was very courteous, patiently answered all of my questions, provided me with a couple of suggestions on steps I could take to help further identify the problem and offered his opinion on the likely cause and expected cost.The actual service call went great. Based on my description of the problem, Barry brought the part most likely required to address the issue. He called it correctly and my refrigerator was up and running in no time.Their prices are very competitive and they are very responsive. I highly recommend 1st Appliance Repair and will definitely share my experience with everyone I know.
 Great company by
Nancy
-
11/30/2009
My washing machine wasn't working so I called Barry. He came out and it turned out to be a very easy fix, so he didn't charge me. Who does this in this day and age of hidden fees, trip charges, and other fees. wow!!! how refreshing. I will definetly call them again the future, as well as recommend them to others!!!
 Good trustworthy service by
Satisfied Mom in Milwaukie
-
09/02/2009
Neil was on time, explained just what was wrong with our refrigerator, told us upfront what the cost would be PLUS he gave us useful tips on how to extend the life of our other household appliances. I would recommend this company and will use them again should the need arise.
 Amazing and honest service by
trishh
-
08/21/2009
Barry is the most honest repair man I have dealt with. I would recommend him to everyone needing a refrigerator repair!!
 Very Pleased! by
Retired Person
-
06/19/2009
Fast and fair. I called at 10am and Barry was here and fixed my dryer by 11:15am! Look no further; you have found the business you want for appliance repairs.
 Milwaukie refer is DOA by
Big Hairy Man
-
03/26/2009
I called Barry on the phone, he was polite, knowledgable and offered to come out the same afternoon. My wife was home when he arrived within the time frame he gave. He checked out our fridge, explained what he was doing and after several tests, pronounced it dead. He came in within the minimum time and charged the minimum charge. It was a fair price, good service and I would highly recommend their company.
 Competence and Quality by
xanthoptica
-
03/21/2009
I'm a homeowner in SE PDX. Repair from 1st Appliance was quick (same-day on an Saturday, at weekday rates), expert (it took about 20 minutes to diagnose a bad defroster limit thermostat on our fridge), competent (had the part in the van, so no follow-up needed) and friendly. Rates were reasonable as well (given what this sort of repair costs). To me, it was exactly what one should be able to expect from a professional.
 excellent business ! by
pdxhamlet
-
01/10/2009
Barry was very personal, up front and wonderful to work with.
I will say that if I or any friends or family of mine had trouble with an appliance I would tell them to ONLY call Barry at 1st Appliance Repair. A gentleman and excellent to work with.

01/02/2009
A nice pair of brothers who provide awesome service for a fair price. Fixed my dryer quickly...same day service and in-and-out in 1/2 an hour. Appointment was scheduled for a 2-hour time frame not a 4-hour time frame as most other service shops do, so my entire day wasn't wasted waiting around and they actually came within the time frame scheduled...true to their word! I'll be calling again, and you should too!

Home
208 S 7th Ave., Ridgefield, Wa 98642
6107 SW Murray Blvd., Beaverton Or. 97008  *  6666 N Swift St., Portland, Or.  97203